Accident or Murder!

Last year sometime in Nov-Dec my maid was tensed as she was not able to find suitable groom for her daughter. Everytime she would appear tensed, I would console her saying that the day is not far when her daughter will get married and would leave her home.

Time went off and in February she informed that her daughter’s alliance is fixed and wedding in on 29th March. I was happy for her.

The wedding ceremony went well and the new bride settled happily in her new family. She was very firm on her decision that after marriage she would not work but God knows what made her take up a job in the cloth factory as a worker.

My maid has spent a total of Rs/-3 lacs on her daughter’s wedding borrowing money at a very high interest rate. She was already under debt, so when last week her daughter asked her for 20K she refused saying she has no money. Plus she has to buy school uniform for her 3 other daughters.

My maid’s husband is a useless fellow who just knows to drink and beat his wife to get money to drink more. His contribution to the family is nil, instead he is a burden on his wife.

After two days of leave, today morning my maid came crying and informed us that her daughter expired on Saturday evening in road accident. I was shocked.

She said on Saturday evening she got a call from one of the neighbours where her daughter was staying saying that she has met with an accident and is being taken to the hospital. My maid called her son in-law and he said he is in shop and has no idea about all this. Immediately my maid called her relatives and they left to the daughter’s place, only to see her daughter was no more .

When she asked her son in-law ,he said he has no clue of what has happened. One of the neighbour said 2 boys of around 18 years came over speeding on Honda Activa and hit her daughter who was crossing the road to go home.

The girl’s in-laws and husband dint even attended the cremation and the MLA of that area came forward and took all the responsibility including financial and helped my maid’s family to complete all the ceremony.

What is making me think that it is not just an accident but full planned murder?

1. As per my maid they (in-laws and husband) dint look sad at all

2. How is that my maid was informed of accident and the girl’s husband had no news

3. May be the in-laws side wanted to get their son re-married to some other woman so that they may again get dowry.My maid has 3 more daughters so the in laws and husband must have thought in future they will not get any money as she has other daughters to look after and the maid’s husband is good for nothing.

4. Not even attending the funeral

5. Forcing her to work

6. The girl asking her mother for 20,000 Rs/- and to gift her new clothes as she needs it to wear to the factory she was working.

7. The girl was given only dinner as for lunch only one particular food was prepared everyday which she hated .In two months of wedded life she has lost weight and become all pale.

Please people lets pray for my maid’s family. May God give her strength. May the soul rest in peace.
Hope the wrong doers get punished and my maid may get justice.

14 thoughts on “Accident or Murder!

  1. ya it is dear 😦
    I do want them to get justice but still her daughter wouldn’t come back 😦 She was just 22

  2. I just felt like someone stabbed me hard right in the heart. Omg! I am just lost for words.

    cant even think of that poor mom who lost her daughter. My prayers with her. Feeling really really bad. Only God knows whats the truth and if the in-laws had any part to play here, let them suffer for their sins. I am sure Karma will answer that. but still what has been lost is lost. A life isnt coming back, which makes me cry.

    • I know ,even I was upset .Sorry dear your comment made me feel that you are too upset,please cheer up.The only thing we can do is to pray for the family.

  3. That was heartbreaking to read. It is difficult to believe that it was an accident, given the circumstances. Especially since her husband and in-laws did not even turn up for her funeral. How can people be like this. I do hope your maid gets justice. So so so sad and unfair!

  4. I know.And guess what on my bday her daughter completed 2 months of her wedded life..my maid was so happy,she showed me the wedding pics too and 2 days later this tragedy.

    I don’t know Smitha,I feel its not just accident…don’t know what to say 😦

  5. Very tragic incident. My heart goes out for the unfortunate lady. I do hope she gets justice but have faint hope. With the points you have shared, it is only pointing towards the chances of being murder but the thing is will the poor mother be able to sustain the shock of her life and report to the police? Even if she does, how much action will be taken? Even if the FIR is filed, the husband and in-laws are arrested, what is the guarantee of winning the court case, forget about the looong duration, high fees of lawyers which test the patience level of people to no end. Only hope is that if some NGO comes to rescue. Thanks Garima for bringing this up. Prayers and condolence to the little girl’s family.

  6. My maid told me that police complaint is made .Out of the two boys one of them is hospitalized and other one is in jail.There are very less chances that in-laws or husband will be questioned as this happened outside the house in public place.
    Also the place is bit far from Bangalore. My maid would not be able to travel frequently .
    Its sad but true that in somedays the spark will die off and she will settle back in her life and this case will die a silent death like million other cases 😦

  7. Thats very tragic and horrfying… I can digest the fact that no one attended the funeral when the wife/DIL is no more… is this wat hv been taught and cultivated in them… All we can do is to pray for the family for the departed soul… I just hope the justice is prevailed too… But loss is a loss and is irreplacable… 😦

  8. I am at a loss for word. I feel so sad for the poor girl, a life that was lost and for a poor mom to see her own daughter in that state. Don’t have anything to say for the ILs and husband.
    May God give strength to your maids family to get over the loss.

  9. may the girl’s soul rest in peace but truly how can she rest in peace if its not an accident? I just feel she has to come back in some means and teach them a good lesson..
    how are you garima? long time.. I will call you soon..

Leave a Reply

